Select Page

Golden Deeds for Education


Recognizing Distinguished Service to Education

Given since 1964, the Golden Deeds for Education Award is considered the most coveted award in Texas public education. TASA and the Texas A&M University Department of Educational Administration and Human Resource Development co-present the award annually.

Selection Process

The Golden Deeds recipient is nominated through a statewide nominating committee, which consists of school district superintendents from across Texas. The award is presented to an individual who has, through actions and deeds, improved the educational system in Texas to enrich the lives of all Texas public school students.

The 2020 nomination period closed September 27, 2019. The recipient will be announced this winter and honored at the 2020 TASA Midwinter Conference.


Golden Deeds Award Timeline

2018 Golden Deeds Award Recipient

Neal Adams, one of the three founding principals of Adams, Lynch & Loftin, P.C., received the 2018 Golden Deeds for Education Award at the Dr. John R. Hoyle Memorial Administrative Leadership Institute in November 2018. Adams has represented school superintendents in Texas for 31 years.

Neal Adams

Golden Deeds Award Recipients 1964-2017

 2017Karen Rue 1990 Linus Wright
 2016Thomas Ratliff 1989 W.N. Kirby
 2015Jimmie Don Aycock 1988 Jon Brumley
 2014Abelardo Saavedra 1987 Dan Long
 2013 Virginia Collier 1986 Raymon Bynum
 2012 Lynn M. Moak 1985 —
 2011 F. Scott McCown 1984 Don Robbins
 2010 Maria Hernandez Ferrier 1983 Mary Ann Leveridge
 2009 David Thompson 1982 John Townley
 2008 Bill McKinney 1981 Marlin L. Brockett
 2007 Leonard Merrell 1980 Charles F. Matthews
 2006 Joe Pirtle 1979 Joe Kelly Butler
 2005 Bob Griggs 1978 Alton O. Bowen
 2004 James Terry 1977 Frank W.R. Hubert
 2003 Johnny L. Veselka 1976 Dana Williams
 2002 Vialleau Wilkie 1975 Kate Bell
 2001 Rick Perry 1974 R.E. Harris
 2000 Will D. Davis 1973 L.D. Haskew
 1999 John Horn 1972 Leon Graham
 1998 Jackie Christie 1971 Frank M. Jackson
 1997 Michael Moses 1970 J.W. Edgar
 1996 Barry B. Thompson 1969 Paul R. Hensarling
 1995 John R. Hoyle 1968 Grady P. Parker
 1994 Robert W. Caster 1967 —
 1993 Norman Hall 1966 George B. Wilcox
 1992 E.A. Sigler 1965 —
 1991 Pat Shell 1964 A.M. Aikin
Share This