Select Page

Regional/State Processes for Texas Teacher of the Year

Educators selected as either the official District Elementary Teacher of the Year or District Secondary Teacher of the Year who wish to advance in the regional/state awards program must submit the online Texas Teacher of the Year application by their respective Region ESC’s close of business on the deadline. (The deadline was June 4, 2020, for the 2021 awards cycle.)

Each completed application is emailed directly to the Regional Teacher of the Year Award coordinator at the teacher’s respective Region ESC. (A teacher nominated by a charter operator should enter the number of the Region ESC in which their campus is located when completing the online application.)

Regional Teacher of the Year Award Coordinators

The following regional award coordinators are available for support for the districts in their areas. Please direct questions about the Regional/Texas Teacher of the Year program to the ESC coordinator listed below for your region.

Region 1
Brenda J. Balderaz
Region 2
Melissa Morin

Region 3
Mitzi McAfee

361.573.0731 ext. 214
Region 4
Kristi Hernandez

Region 5
Marianne Kondo

Region 6
Brian Zemlicka

Region 7
Summer Stone
Region 8
Stacy Elledge
Region 9
Debbie Cummings
Region 10
Rachel Frost

Region 11
Lori Burton
Region 12
Charlene Simpson
Region 13
Krystal Herrington
Region 14
Melissa Morales
Region 15
Laura Strube

Region 16
Brenda Foster
Region 17
Deanna Logan
806.792.4000, ext. 892
Region 18
LaJuan Holster
Region 19
Socorro Rodriguez
Region 20
Mayra DeHoyos

The regional selection process is conducted in June-July by the 20 Texas Regional Education Service Centers; each names a Regional Elementary and Secondary Teacher of the Year.

State Level Consideration

The 40 Regional Teachers of the Year are considered for Texas Teacher of the Year in a selection process facilitated by TASA. (If a Regional Teacher of the Year accepts a non-teaching position [in administration or outside a school or district] or moves to a position in which they teach students for less than four hours each day, they will not be eligible to advance in the state competition.)

Learn more about the Texas Teacher of the Year program.

Share This