Select Page



Important Dates

Spotlighting Schools’ Successes

Through our facilitation of the Texas Teacher of the Year and School Board awards, as well as other recognition programs, TASA provides the opportunity for school leaders to shine the spotlight on individuals in their districts who work tirelessly on behalf of students.

Texas Teacher of the Year

The Texas Teacher of the Year Program honors outstanding educators whose efforts and example have inspired their students, their colleagues, and the communities they serve.

School Board Awards

TASA created the School Board Awards Program in 1971 to recognize school boards whose dedication and service have made a positive impact on Texas schoolchildren.

Johnny L. Veselka Scholarship

The Johnny L. Veselka Scholarship honors and provides financial assistance to outstanding doctoral students pursuing careers in educational leadership, with emphasis on the superintendency.

Golden Deeds for Education Award

The Golden Deeds for Education Award is considered the most coveted award in the field of Texas education and the highest recognition for distinguished service to education in the state.

Exhibit of School Architecture

The TASA/TASB Exhibit of School Architecture showcases new and renovated Texas schools and celebrates excellence in planning and design of the learning environment.

Texas Nominee for AASA National Superintendent of the Year

To be eligible for National Superintendent of the Year, a Texas superintendent must first be selected by TASA as Texas’ nominee for AASA National Superintendent of the Year.