Select Page

The election process for TASA Executive Committee positions representing even-numbered regions is underway. Nine members who are eligible to serve another term have notified the TASA office of their intent to seek re-election. One member will complete his second two-year term on May 31, 2024, and is ineligible to run again. Members elected will serve a two-year term from June 1, 2024, to May 31, 2026.

Members Seeking New Terms

  • Region 2 – Sharon McKinney, Port Aransas ISD
  • Region 4 – Walter Jackson, La Porte ISD
  • Region 6 – Darol Hail, New Waverly ISD
  • Region 8 – Jason McCullough, Mount Vernon ISD
  • Region 10 – John “JJ” Villarreal, Rockwall ISD
  • Region 12 – Bobby Ott, Temple ISD
  • Region 16 – Sheri Blankenship, Hereford ISD
  • Region 18 – Jay McWilliams, Big Spring ISD
  • Region 20 – Burnie Roper, Lackland ISD

Member Whose Position will be Vacant as of June 1

  • Region 14 – David Young, Abilene ISD

Nomination Process

The 2024 Executive Committee Election Operating Procedures state that a petition may be initiated by the candidate or any TASA member in the region.

Members presenting a nomination must state that the nominee is a “paid up” TASA member and that the nominee’s permission has been obtained to offer his/her name as a candidate for election. The petition form can be obtained by contacting Ann Roland at TASA headquarters at or 512.852.2102.

Petitions must be supported by signatures of TASA members in the region who belong to TASA in the Active Membership Category or the College + University + Agency Membership Category, totaling a number equal to 15 percent of the members in the region who are eligible to vote, but no less than five, during the prior membership year (2022-23). (See the number of signatures required for each even-numbered region. The information is at the bottom of the page under “Petition Requirements.”)

Petitions containing the required number of signatures must be received by the TASA executive director no later than February 15, 2024.

Find details on this election cycle, the vacancies, and the nomination process under “Executive Committee Election Requirements & Eligibility” at the bottom of the TASA Executive Committee webpage.