Select Page

The election process for TASA Executive Committee positions representing odd-numbered regions is underway. Eight members who are eligible to serve another term have notified the TASA office of their intent to seek re-election. Two members who will complete their second two-year terms on May 31, 2023, are ineligible to run again. Members elected will serve a two-year term from June 1, 2023, to May 31, 2025.

Members Seeking New Terms

  • Region 1 – Rene Gutierrez, Brownsville ISD
  • Region 5 – Stacey Brister, Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD
  • Region 7 – Chris Moran, Whitehouse ISD
  • Region 9 – Sonny Cruse, Graham ISD
  • Region 11 – Jeremy Thompson, Ponder ISD
  • Region 13 – Steven Snell, Liberty Hill ISD
  • Region 17 – Michelle McCord, Frenship ISD
  • Region 19 – Veronica Vijil, Fabens ISD

Members Whose Positions will be Vacant as of June 1

  • Region 3 – Jo Ann Bludau, Hallettsville ISD
  • Region 15 – Joe Young, Brownwood ISD

Nomination Process

The 2023 Executive Committee Election Operating Procedures state that a petition may be initiated by the candidate or any TASA member in the region.

Members presenting a nomination must state that the nominee is a “paid up” TASA member and that the nominee’s permission has been obtained to offer his/her name as a candidate for election. The petition form can be obtained by contacting Ann Roland at TASA headquarters at or 512.477.6361.

Petitions must be supported by signatures of TASA members in the region who belong to TASA in the Active Membership Category or the College + University + Agency Membership Category, totaling a number equal to 15 percent of the members in the region who are eligible to vote, but no less than five, during the prior membership year (2021-22). (See the number of signatures required for each odd-numbered region. The information is at the bottom of the page under “Petition Requirements.”)

Petitions containing the required number of signatures must be received by the TASA executive director no later than February 15, 2023.

Find details on this election cycle, the vacancies, and the nomination process under “Executive Committee Election Requirements & Eligibility” at the bottom of the TASA Executive Committee webpage.