Select Page

Sixteen Texas school district boards of trustees have been selected as regional nominees for the 2017 TASA School Board Awards.

The regional nominees for 2017 Outstanding School Board of the Year are:

Region School District Nominating Superintendent
1 Lasara ISD Sara Alvarado
3 Wharton ISD Tina Herrington
4 Galena Park ISD Angi Williams
5 Hardin-Jefferson Shannon Holmes
7 Longview ISD James Wilcox
8 Sulphur Springs ISD Michael Lamb
10 Royse City ISD Kevin Worthy
11 Mansfield ISD Jim Vaszauskas
12 Killeen ISD John Craft
13 Dripping Springs ISD Bruce Gearing
16 Canadian ISD Kyle Lynch
17 O’Donnell ISD Cathy Palmer
18 Coahoma ISD Amy Jacobs
18 Alpine ISD Rebecca Watley
20 Center Point ISD Cody Newcomb
20 Southwest ISD Lloyd Verstuyft


Texas school superintendents who belong to TASA and meet other criteria may nominate their boards of trustees for the TASA School Board Awards. Committees of TASA members organized by Texas’ regional education service centers review the nominations and select up to two school boards for consideration for the state-level awards: one with fewer than 1,000 students and one with 1,000 or more students.

TASA’s School Board Awards Committee will meet in late July to select up to five of the nominated boards to be recognized as Honor Boards. Those finalists will be interviewed at the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas October 6-8, and one will be named Outstanding School Board of the Year during that event.