Select Page

At its March 26 meeting, the TASA Executive Committee ratified the election of Los Fresnos CISD Superintendent Gonzalo Salazar as 2021-22 TASA president-elect. He currently serves as the Region 1 representative on the committee. The committee also elected Aldine ISD Superintendent LaTonya Goffney, currently serving as an at-large member on the Executive Committee, as 2021-22 vice president.

Doug Williams, superintendent, Sunnyvale ISD, assumes the position of 2021-22 TASA president on June 1, when Salazar and Goffney also begin their one-year terms. Current President Brian Woods, superintendent, Northside ISD, will serve as immediate past president.

The Executive Committee also approved the appointments by President-Elect Doug Williams of Sweeny Superintendent Tory Hill and Gunter ISD Superintendent Jill Siler to the two at-large positions on the committee currently held by LaTonya Goffney and La Porte ISD Superintendent Walter Jackson, whose two-year terms end May 31. Hill and Siler will serve a two-year term commencing June 1.

The TASA membership has also elected seven new members to represent them on the TASA Executive Committee beginning June 1.