Select Page

Five school boards from across Texas have been selected as Honor School Boards as part of the 2017 TASA School Board Awards. Each year, the program recognizes outstanding Texas school boards for commitment and service that has made a positive impact on Texas public school students.

Since 1971, the TASA program has honored Texas school district boards of trustees that have demonstrated dedication to student achievement and that put students first.
The five school boards selected as 2017 Texas Honor School Boards are:
Coahoma ISD Board of Trustees, nominated by Superintendent Amy Jacobs

“The Coahoma ISD school board’s willingness to take innovative risks is evident by the huge strides they have made in transforming their district. They value the whole child and understand the lasting impact education will have on improving their students’ future possibilities and their community for generations to come.” —2017 TASA School Board Awards Committee
Galena Park ISD Board of Trustees, nominated by Superintendent Angi Williams

“Galena Park ISD has established a culture of excellence and an expectation of success. The board has been proactive, communicated effectively, planned strategically, and has modeled its vision of ‘Excellence in All, for All, by All.’” —2017 TASA School Board Awards Committee
Hardin-Jefferson ISD Board of Trustees, nominated by Superintendent Shannon Holmes

“The Hardin-Jefferson ISD school board has exhibited an unwavering commitment to ensuring a high-quality education for the students of HJISD. By always working for the greater good of the students and community, board members have set a precedent for others to follow.” —2017 TASA School Board Awards Committee
Mansfield ISD Board of Trustees, nominated by Superintendent Jim Vaszauskas

“The Mansfield ISD board has made a commitment to continuous improvement, and the district’s students are experiencing excellence as a result. Board members have made student achievement a priority through their actions.” —2017 TASA School Board Awards Committee
Royse City ISD Board of Trustees, nominated by Superintendent Kevin Worthy

“The members of the Royse City ISD school board are to be commended for their vision, focus and commitment. Since 2013, the district has transformed itself by taking action to revolutionize learning. With board support, RCISD has not only improved practice in the district, it has been a leader in bringing professional learning to others in the region.” —2017 TASA School Board Awards Committee
The five boards are now finalists for the program’s highest honor: 2017 Outstanding School Board. They will be interviewed at the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas, then one board will be named Outstanding School Board during the convention’s first general session at 4 p.m., October 6. The other Honor Boards, as well as the regional winners, will also be recognized at that time.
The 11 boards to be recognized as 2017 Regional Honor Boards are:
  • Alpine ISD, Region 18, Rebecca Watley, superintendent
  • Canadian ISD, Region 16, Kyle Lynch, superintendent
  • Center Point ISD, Region 20, Cody Newcomb, superintendent
  • Dripping Springs ISD, Region 13, Bruce Gearing, superintendent
  • Killeen ISD, Region 12, John Craft, superintendent
  • Lasara ISD, Region 1, Sara Alvarado, superintendent
  • Longview ISD, Region 7, James Wilcox, superintendent
  • O’Donnell ISD, Region 17, Cathy Palmer, superintendent
  • Southwest ISD, Region 20, Lloyd Verstuyft, superintendent
  • Sulphur Springs ISD, Region 8, Michael Lamb, superintendent
  • Wharton ISD, Region 3, Tina Herrington, superintendent

The five Honor Boards were selected by a committee of Texas school superintendents, chaired by Lancaster ISD Superintendent Michael McFarland, whose school board was named the Outstanding School Board for 2016. The selection committee’s decisions were based on specific criteria, including support for educational performance, support for educational improvement projects, commitment to a code of ethics, and maintenance of harmonious and supportive relationships among board members.