Select Page

At its March 23, 2022, meeting, the TASA Executive Committee ratified the election of Aldine ISD Superintendent LaTonya Goffney as 2022-23 TASA president-elect. She currently serves as the 2021-22 TASA vice president.

The committee also elected Tomball ISD Superintendent Martha Salazar-Zamora as 2022-23 TASA vice president. She currently serves as the Region 4 representative on the Executive Committee, and had been re-elected to a second term on the committee from June 1, 2022, to May 31, 2024. An election to fill the Region 4 position on the Executive Committee for the two-year term beginning June 1 will be held soon.

Gonzalo Salazar, superintendent, Los Fresnos CISD, assumes the position of 2022-23 TASA president on June 1, when Goffney and Salazar-Zamora also begin their one-year terms.

Other Changes to the Executive Committee for 2022-24

At-Large Members

The Executive Committee approved the appointment of Corpus Christi ISD Superintendent Roland Hernandez, and Robert Bayard, Clear Creek ISD Deputy Superintendent of Curriculum & Instruction, to at-large positions on the Executive Committee. They will serve two-year terms beginning June 1.

Gary Bates, superintendent, Fort Sam Houston ISD, will depart the Executive Committee upon the completion of his two-year term as an at-large member on May 31.

Robert Bayard has been serving as an at-large member since September 2021 following his appointment to replace Priscilla Canales for the balance of her term ending May 31, 2022.

Committee Chairs

Beginning June 1, Lubbock-Cooper ISD Deputy Superintendent Macy Satterwhite will serve a two-year term on the Executive Committee as the chair of the TASA Professional Learning Committee. Region 16 ESC Executive Director Tanya Larkin completes her term as chair of that committee May 31.

Hutto ISD Superintendent Celina Estrada-Thomas will also begin a two-year term on the Executive Committee as chair of the TASA Member Engagement Committee. Elgin ISD Superintendent Jodi Duron will complete her term as that committee’s chair May 31.

Lamar CISD Superintendent Roosevelt Nivens will continue to serve as the Advocacy Committee chair, while Lubbock-Cooper ISD Superintendent Keith Bryant will continue to serve as the Legislative Committee chair, until their terms end May 31, 2023.

Newly Elected Members

As previously announced, six other new members will also join the TASA Executive Committee in June 2022.