Select Page

Fourteen Texas school district boards of trustees have been selected as regional nominees for the 2020 TASA School Board Awards. The regional nominees for 2020 Outstanding School Board of the Year are:

Region 1 – McAllen ISD Board of Trustees, Jose Gonzalez, nominating superintendent
Region 3 – Calhoun County ISD Board of Trustees, Larry Nichols, nominating superintendent
Region 4 – Sheldon ISD Board of Trustees, King Davis, nominating superintendent
Region 5 – Vidor ISD Board of Trustees, Jay Killgo, nominating superintendent
Region 7 – Whitehouse ISD Board of Trustees, Chris Moran, nominating superintendent
Region 9 – Throckmorton Collegiate ISD Board of Trustees, Michelle Cline, nominating superintendent
Region 10 – Mesquite ISD Board of Trustees, David Vroonland, nominating superintendent
Region 11 – Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD Board of Trustees, Steven Chapman, nominating superintendent
Region 12 – Temple ISD Board of Trustees, Bobby Ott, nominating superintendent
Region 13 – Pflugerville ISD Board of Trustees, Doug Killian, nominating superintendent
Region 15 – San Angelo ISD Board of Trustees, Carl Dethloff, nominating superintendent
Region 16 – Dumas ISD Board of Trustees, Monty Hysinger, nominating superintendent
Region 19 (large district category) – San Elizario ISD Board of Trustees, Jeannie Meza-Chavez, nominating superintendent
Region 19 (small district category) – Tornillo ISD Board of Trustees, Rosa Vega-Barrio, nominating superintendent

Texas school superintendents who are TASA members and meet other criteria may nominate their boards of trustees for the TASA School Board Awards. Committees of TASA members organized by Texas’ regional education service centers review the nominations and select up to two school boards for consideration for the state-level awards: one with fewer than 1,000 students and one with 1,000 or more students.

TASA’s School Board Awards Committee will meet virtually in early August to select up to five of the nominated boards to be recognized as Honor Boards. Those finalists will be interviewed this fall, and the 2020 Outstanding School Board will be announced.

The TASA School Board Awards Program was established in 1971 to recognize the dedication and service of school boards that make a positive impact on the schoolchildren of Texas.

TASA is the professional association for Texas school superintendents and other administrators. The mission of the organization, which focuses on professional learning, advocacy and member engagement, is to promote, provide and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.