Select Page

On March 27, 2020, the TASA Executive Committee ratified the election of Sunnyvale ISD Superintendent Doug Williams as 2020-21 TASA president-elect. He currently serves as the 2019-20 TASA vice president.

The committee also elected Fort Bend ISD Superintendent Charles Dupre, currently serving as the Region 4 representative on the Executive Committee and as TASA’s Legislative Committee Chair, as 2020-21 vice president.

Brian Woods (pictured above), superintendent, Northside ISD, assumes the position of 2020-21 TASA president on June 1, when Williams and Dupre also begin their one-year terms.

Changes to the Executive Committee for 2020-21

Bryan ISD Superintendent Christie Whitbeck won the recent election for the Region 6 position on the TASA Executive Committee. Her two-year term will begin June 1.

Joining the Executive Committee June 1 as at-large members will be Gary Bates, superintendent, Fort Sam Houston ISD, and Priscilla Canales, superintendent, Weslaco ISD. The term for at-large positions held by Jamie Wilson and Scott Niven expires May 31. The TASA Executive Committee approved their appointments to the committee March 27.