Select Page

In its regularly scheduled meeting today, the TASA Executive Committee took action to approve two at-large appointments to the committee and elected the 2018-19 TASA president-elect and vice president.

At-Large Appointments

The Executive Committee approved the appointment of Scott Niven, superintendent, Allen ISD, and Jamie Wilson, superintendent, Denton ISD, each to a two-year term from June 1, 2018, to May 31, 2020.

Update: President-elect Gayle Stinson also appointed Dr. LaTonya Goffney to an at-large position, effective June 1, 2018. She will fill the at-large position currently held by Doug Williams, superintendent, Sunnyvale ISD. His membership on the committee is not affected since he will serve on the committee as TASA Legislative Chair for the coming year. Dr. Goffney, superintendent, Lufkin ISD, was named April 17 as lone finalist for the superintendent position in Aldine ISD.

2018-19 TASA President-Elect and Vice President Chosen

The TASA Executive Committee ratified the election of Clear Creek ISD Superintendent Greg Smith as 2018-19 TASA president-elect. Smith was the only candidate submitting the necessary petitions, and was thereby elected to the position. He currently serves as the 2017-18 TASA vice president. The Executive Committee elected Northside ISD Superintendent Brian T. Woods, whose term as Region 20 representative on the Executive Committee ends May 31, to serve as TASA 2018-19 vice president. Both will serve one-year terms starting June 1.

President-Elect Stinson to Assume Position of President

Gayle Stinson, superintendent, Lake Dallas ISD, assumes the position of TASA president on June 1.

The 2018 Executive Committee election results were announced earlier in March.