Select Page

Twelve Texas school district boards of trustees have been selected as regional nominees for the 2023 TASA School Board Awards. The regional nominees for 2023 Outstanding School Board of the Year are:

Region Nominee Nominating Superintendent
1 Rio Grande City Grulla ISD Board of Trustees Adolfo Peña, Jr.
2 Ingleside ISD ISD Board of Trustees Troy Mircovich
3 Rice Consolidated ISD Board of Trustees Bill Hefner
4 Texas City ISD Board of Trustees Melissa Duarte
5 West Orange-Cove CISD Board of Trustees Rickie Harris
6 Montgomery ISD Board of Trustees Heath Morrison
7 Mineola ISD Board of Trustees Cody Mize
11 Crowley ISD Board of Trustees Michael McFarland
12 Corsicana ISD Board of Trustees Diane Frost
16 Canadian ISD Board of Trustees Lynn Pulliam
18 Fort Stockton ISD Board of Trustees Gabriel Zamora
19 Ysleta ISD Board of Trustees Xavier De La Torre

Texas school superintendents who are TASA members and meet other criteria may nominate their boards of trustees for the TASA School Board Awards. Committees of TASA members organized by Texas’ regional education service centers review the nominations and select up to two school boards for consideration for the state-level awards: one with fewer than 1,000 students (small district category) and one with 1,000 or more students (large district category).

TASA’s School Board Awards Committee will meet virtually in late July to select up to five of the nominated boards to be recognized as Honor Boards. Those finalists will be interviewed in Dallas at txEDCON23 TASA | TASB Convention on September 29, and the 2023 Outstanding School Board will be announced during the Saturday, September 30, general session.

The TASA School Board Awards Program was established in 1971 to recognize the dedication and service of school boards that make a positive impact on the schoolchildren of Texas. The program is sponsored by Paper for the 2023-24 school year.