Select Page

Five school boards from across Texas have been selected as Honor School Boards as part of the 2020 TASA School Board Awards. Each year, the program recognizes outstanding Texas school boards for commitment and service that has made a positive impact on Texas public school students.

Since 1971, the TASA program has honored Texas school district boards of trustees that have demonstrated dedication to student achievement and that put students first.

The five school boards selected as 2020 Texas Honor School Boards are:

Sheldon ISD Board of Trustees, Region 4, King Davis, nominating superintendent

The committee was impressed by the Sheldon ISD Board’s focus on academic growth in a time of dramatic enrollment increases, supported by a rich variety of course offerings and opportunities for students, assistance for English language learners, and nationally recognized AVID program.

“Our trustees are a dedicated, passionate and hard-working group of individuals who care deeply about their role in school governance,” said Davis. “They work diligently to ensure the district continues to follow its vision to ‘provide personalized learning opportunities to ensure all students graduate college and career ready.’”

Mesquite ISD Board of Trustees, Region 10, David Vroonland, nominating superintendent

The committee described the MISD Board of Trustees as innovative and forward thinking. Committee members were particularly impressed by the district’s Excellence in Teaching Incentive Program, Early Literacy Initiative, efforts related to local accountability, and participation in the Holdsworth Center’s program for district leadership.

“The unparalleled leadership and keen desire of this board to elevate Mesquite ISD to new levels of excellence continually inspire me,” said Vroonland. “The individuals who serve on this board are bold  in their commitment to delivering an educational system that ensures our students graduate with the skills and knowledge that will put them in control of their freedom and a future of their choosing.”

Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD Board of Trustees, Region 11, Steven Chapman, nominating superintendent

The committee described the H-E-B ISD Board as purposeful and methodical, and was particularly impressed by the district’s outstanding student programs, commitment to quality, formalized policymaking process, and the fact that the board is “part of the fabric of the community.”

“These seven individuals are focused on maximizing academic achievement, increasing effective and efficient operations, and building lasting relationships with business and community leaders to ensure that H-E-B ISD students are well-prepared for the global marketplace,” said Chapman.

Temple ISD Board of Trustees, Region 12, Bobby Ott, nominating superintendent

The committee described the TISD Board of Trustees’ efforts as comprehensive and intentional with a “high standard of excellence.” They were particularly impressed by the board’s gender equity plan and Project Diploma program.

“There is not another staff, in any district, that feels more supported by their board of trustees than TISD,” wrote Ott in his nomination. “Board Members have an ear to the ground and a hand in supporting all school staff in establishing policies that allow for fully provisioned classrooms, first-class facilities, a safe environment, and a caring place for educating our student population.”

Tornillo ISD Board of Trustees, Region 19, Rosa Vega-Barrio, nominating superintendent

The committee described the TISD Board as all-around innovative, and was especially impressed by the fact that the board invites students to be part of board decisions and governance, its focus on restorative discipline practices, and the board’s “outside the box” thinking related to the academic calendar.

The five boards are now finalists for the program’s highest honor: 2020 Outstanding School Board. They will be interviewed in conjunction with txEDCON, the TASA|TASB Convention. During that September 30-October 2 virtual event, one board will be named Outstanding School Board. The other Honor Boards, as well as nine regional winners, will also be recognized during the event.

The nine boards to be recognized as 2020 Regional Honor Boards are:

The five Honor Boards were selected by a committee of Texas school superintendents, chaired by Harlingen CISD Superintendent Art Cavazos, whose school board was named the Outstanding School Board for 2019. The selection committee’s decisions were based on criteria that include: support for educational performance, support for educational improvement projects, commitment to a code of ethics, and maintenance of harmonious and supportive relationships among board members.

The 2020-21 School Board Awards program is sponsored by Stantec.