Select Page

Five school boards from across Texas have been selected as Honor School Boards as part of the 2019 TASA School Board Awards. Each year, the program recognizes outstanding Texas school boards for commitment and service that has made a positive impact on Texas public school students.

Since 1971, the TASA program has honored Texas school district boards of trustees that have demonstrated dedication to student achievement and that put students first.

The five school boards selected as 2019 Texas Honor School Boards are:

Frenship ISD Board of Trustees, nominated by Superintendent Michelle McCord

The committee was impressed that the Frenship ISD Board’s commitment to the district’s vision and beliefs has built a culture of support for students, teachers, staff and community.

“Our board demonstrates an unshakeable resolve to accomplish our vision of ‘seeking perfection and capturing excellence’ for every child, every day,” said McCord. “They have a reputation of strong, thoughtful and consistent leadership that is aligned with the community’s values. They honor the past to provide momentum for the future.”

Harlingen CISD Board of Trustees, nominated by Superintendent Art Cavazos

The committee was impressed by the Harlingen CISD Board’s vision of support for the children to have premier choices and opportunities as well as their foresight and united vision with community members.

“Our board members have overcome adversity to have a seat at the dais, and they bring an insurmountable amount of creative acumen, intellectual power, and sharpness each time they meet to make impactful and vital decisions for their community and students,” said Cavazos. “I am honored to have a seat among them.”

Pasadena ISD Board of Trustees, nominated by Superintendent DeeAnn Powell

The committee was impressed by the PISD Board of Trustees’ support of innovative programs and initiatives that have resulted in the district being one of the largest personalized learning school districts in the nation.

“The PISD Board is a dedicated team that serves a diverse community with a relentless commitment to put kids first,” said Powell. “They are dedicated to public service to our school district and to our community.”
Rockwall ISD logo

Rockwall ISD Board of Trustees, nominated by Superintendent JJ Villarreal

The committee was impressed that the RISD Board of Trustees has led the effort to plan and execute the district’s transformational vision for the future of RISD students, and that the trustees clearly value relationships, innovation and excellence in all aspects of the school experience.

“It is clear that our trustees recognize that making a positive difference in the lives of our students, our staff and community requires teamwork, and that has moved our district to even greater levels of excellence,” said Villarreal.

Tyler ISD Board of Trustees, nominated by Superintendent Marty Crawford

The committee was impressed that through leadership and dedication, the Tyler ISD Board has set the course for the future of the school district focused on early literacy, college readiness, and career and technical education while supporting school transformational initiatives and school programs.

“As a school superintendent, you have to love what you do, why you do it, and who you do it for. Those all check off for me in Tyler, Texas, and it starts with our board of trustees,” said Crawford. “They are a professional group, able to consider what it will take for successful student outcomes and community success while putting aside individual preferences, all in the name of defeating tradition and reputation, rewriting the Tyler ISD story as incredible.”

The five boards are now finalists for the program’s highest honor: 2019 Outstanding School Board. They will be interviewed at the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas, where one board will be named Outstanding School Board during the convention’s first general session at 4 p.m., September 20. The other Honor Boards, as well as the regional winners, will also be recognized at that time.

The eight boards to be recognized as 2019 Regional Honor Boards are:

The five Honor Boards were selected by a committee of Texas school superintendents, chaired by Grapevine-Colleyville ISD Superintendent Robin Ryan, whose school board was named the Outstanding School Board for 2018. The selection committee’s decisions were based on criteria that includes support for educational performance, support for educational improvement projects, commitment to a code of ethics, and maintenance of harmonious and supportive relationships among board members.