Select Page

Today TASA named the Coahoma ISD Board of Trustees the 2017 Outstanding School Board at the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas. Since 1971, the TASA School Board Awards program has honored outstanding Texas school boards that have demonstrated commitment to their students and to their communities.

The Coahoma ISD school board was chosen from among five finalists that were interviewed by a committee of Texas school superintendents. The committee’s decision was based on several criteria, including the board’s support for educational performance, educational improvement projects and school transformation initiatives, commitment to a code of ethics, and placement of the welfare of children served by the school system above other motives.

In particular, the committee was impressed by the board’s fiscal stewardship. Trustees managed to overcome a significant reduction in funding due to a decline in the oil and gas industry without reducing staff or programs. The committee also commended the board’s focus on innovation and transformation as well as the tremendous gains by Coahoma ISD students in academic achievement. With the launch of the Coahoma ISD Academy for K-8, the district has provided more choices for students and supported the development of future leaders.

“The Coahoma ISD Board of Trustees has shown a commitment to governance and to their role as board members,” said Dr. Michael McFarland, superintendent of Crowley ISD and chair of the TASA School Board Awards Committee. “They have proven that they are unwilling to allow politics to interfere with doing what is best for Coahoma ISD students.”

Coahoma ISD Superintendent Amy Jacobs, the 2017 Region 18 Superintendent of the Year, nominated the board for the award. “The passion of this board of trustees is simply to do what is best for students,” she said. “They are willing to take innovative risks. They are willing to face criticism for not doing what ‘has always been done.’ They are willing to place their personal feelings and relationships aside to make unbiased decisions benefiting the growth of our district. And most important, they are relentless in their commitment to serve others.”

Coahoma ISD, near Big Spring in West Texas (Education Service Center Region 18), serves 920 students.

In addition to the Coahoma ISD board, the other four finalists, or “Honor Boards,” were recognized at the TASA/TASB Convention: Galena Park ISD, Region 4; Hardin-Jefferson ISD, Region 5; Mansfield ISD, Region 11; and Royse City ISD, Region 10.

The Regional Honor Boards, also honored at the convention, were: Alpine ISD, Region 18; Canadian ISD, Region 16; Center Point ISD, Region 20; Dripping Springs ISD, Region 13; Killeen ISD, Region 12; Lasara ISD, Region 1; Longview ISD, Region 7; O’Donnell ISD, Region 17; Southwest ISD, Region 20; Sulphur Springs ISD, Region 8; and Wharton ISD, Region 3.