Select Page

Houston ISD and Manor ISD have been selected to receive the Caudill Award, the highest honor in the annual Exhibit of School Architecture competition facilitated by TASA and the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) for projects that exemplify excellence in planning and design of the learning environment. The architectural projects will be on display in the exhibit hall and the winners will be recognized at the 2019 TASA Midwinter Conference in Austin January 28-29.

The winning projects received at least four stars from six areas of distinction, making them eligible for the Caudill Award, which is named after Texas architect William Wayne Caudill (1914–1983), whose progressive concepts continue to influence school design.

Houston ISD won for Milby High School, a new facility surrounding and preserving a 1926, historically significant structure. The design incorporates 40,000 square feet of renovated space with 227,000 square feet of new construction. Milby is the home to eight career and technology education programs that focus on project-based, hands-on and linked learning. Site amenities include baseball, softball, soccer, football and practice fields, tennis courts and a walking track along the perimeter.

Manor ISD won for Manor New Tech Middle School — a new, comprehensive, three-level school with a total area of 120,000 square feet in phase one and 8,000 square feet in phase two. The design accommodates a variety of group sizes and activities ranging from quiet, solo study to louder group work. An open design with mobile tables, chairs and whiteboards accomplishes this flexibility.

Kirksey Architecture designed the Houston ISD project, and Stantec was the architect for the Manor ISD project.

The Exhibit of School Architecture awards are given at the discretion of a 12-member jury (four school board members, four administrators, two representatives from the Texas Society of Architects and two representatives from the Association for Learning Environments (A4LE). The Caudill Award winners were chosen from among 27 projects awarded Stars of Distinction in the areas of community, planning, transformation, design, value and sustainability.