Select Page

Thirty-four projects in 27 school districts and three college districts received one or more Stars of Distinction in the 2019-20 Exhibit of School Architecture competition, which showcases new and renovated Texas schools and celebrates excellence in planning and design of the learning environment.

The projects will be on display in the Exhibit of School Architecture at the TASA|TASB Convention, to be held at the Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center in Dallas September 20-22.

The projects that received 2019-20 Stars of Distinction for excellence in one or more areas of distinction (community, planning, school transformation, design, value and sustainability) include:


DistrictSchool or FacilitySuperintendentBoard PresidentSubmitting Firm NameStars of Distinction
Alamo Colleges DistrictE.L. Turbon Student CenterMike FloresMarcelo CasillasPfluger ArchitectsValue
Alief ISDAlief Center for Advanced CareersHD ChambersAnn WilliamsPBKDesign, Community, Planning, School Transformation
Allen ISDBecky Lowery Freshman CenterScott NivenAmy GnadtCorganDesign
Athens ISDAthens High SchoolBlake StilesAlicea ElliottClaycomb Associates, ArchitectsCommunity
Austin Community CollegeSan Gabriel CampusRichard RhodesGigi Edwards BryantPfluger ArchitectsDesign, Sustainability, Planning
Brock ISDBrock Elementary SchoolCade SmithMartin IveyWRA ArchitectsDesign
Comal ISDPieper Ranch Middle SchoolAndrew KimJason YorkPfluger ArchitectsDesign, Sustainability, Planning, School Transformation
Conroe ISDGrand Oaks High SchoolCurtis NullDatren WilliamsPBKValue
Coppell ISDCoppell Middle School WestBrad HuntThom HulmeCorganSustainability
Cypress-Fairbanks ISDMatzke Elementary SchoolMark HenryJohn OgletreePBKCommunity
Dallas ISDSolar Preparatory School for Girls at James B. BonhamMichael HinojosaJustin HenryBWA ArchitectsDesign, Value, Sustainability, Community, Planning, School Transformation
DeSoto ISDKatherine Johnson Technology Magnet AcademyD'Andre WeaverKaren DanielPerkins+WillSustainability, Planning, School Transformation
Dickinson ISDKranz Junior High SchoolCarla VoelkelDavid SwartzPBKDesign, Community
Dimmitt ISDRichardson Elementary SchoolBryan DavisGreg OdomParkhill, Smith & Cooper, Inc.Community
Fort Worth ISDI.M. Terrell Academy for STEM and VPAKent Paredes ScribnerJacinto Ramos, Jr.CorganSchool Transformation
Garland ISDGilbreath-Reed Career and Technical CenterRicardo LópezJohnny BeachCorganCommunity, Planning, School Transformation
Georgetown ISDThe Hammerlun Center for Leadership and LearningFred BrentScott StriblingHuckabeeDesign, Value, Community, Planning, School Transformation
Godley ISDGodley High SchoolRich DearMatt McKittrickHuckabeeCommunity
Highland Park ISDUniversity Park Elementary SchoolTom TriggJim HitzelbergerStantecCommunity
Houston ISDHigh School for Law & JusticeGrenita LathanDiana DávilaPageSchool Transformation
Houston ISDEnergy Institute High SchoolGrenita LathanDiana DávilaVLK ArchitectsDesign, Value, School Transformation
Judson ISDEscondido North Elementary SchoolJeanette BallRenée A. PaschallStantecDesign
Klein ISDLemm Elementary SchoolJenny McGownGeorgan ReitmeierPBKValue
Lone Star CollegeWestway Park Technology CenterStephen C. HeadAlton SmithBrown Reynolds Watford ArchitectsDesign
Manor ISDManor Senior High SchoolRoyce AveryElmer FisherPerkins+WillPlanning, School Transformation
Manor ISDLagos Elementary SchoolRoyce AveryElmer FisherStantecDesign, Value, Sustainability
Mansfield ISDDr. Sarah K. Jandrucko Academy for Early LearnersJim VaszauskasKaren MarcucciHuckabeeDesign, Community, Planning, School Transformation
Mesquite ISDMesquite High School Addition/RenovationDavid VroonlandArchimedes FaulknerWRA ArchitectsSchool Transformation
Montessori for AllMagnolia Montessori for AllSara CotnerRichard ReddickPageDesign
Pasadena ISDPomeroy Elementary SchoolDeeAnn PowellMarshall Kendrickcre8 ArchitectsDesign
Rockwall ISDDr. Gene Burton College & Career AcademyJohn VillarrealJon BaileyHuckabeeSchool Transformation
Round Rock ISDNature to Neighborhood StudioSteve FloresCharles ChadwellPfluger ArchitectsValue, Sustainability, Community, School Transformation
Round Rock ISDCedar Ridge High School AuditoriumSteve FloresCharles ChadwellStantecDesign, Value
Ysleta ISDThomas Manor Elementary SchoolXavier De La TorreCruz A. OchoaGA ArchitectureDesign

The Exhibit of School Architecture awards are given at the discretion of a 12-member jury, which includes: four school board members, four administrators, two representatives from the Texas Society of Architects and two representatives from the Association for Learning Environments (A4LE). To be eligible for consideration for the 2019-20 Exhibit of School Architecture, projects had to be newly constructed or renovated public education facilities completed in the past five years.