Select Page

TASA has named the Aledo ISD Board of Trustees the 2021 Outstanding School Board — the top honor in the TASA School Board Awards program, which has honored Texas school boards that have demonstrated commitment to their students and to their communities since 1971. The program is sponsored this year by Google for Education and Huckabee.

The Aledo ISD school board was chosen from among five finalists that were interviewed by a committee of Texas school administrators. The committee was impressed by the board’s heavy emphasis on student learning and academic achievement, their work to earn trust within their community, and their ability to manage change.

“As a ‘Team of 8,’ they’ve exemplified in action their district motto ‘growing greatness’ whether it’s fiscal responsibility, improving student outcomes, or building trust in the community,” the committee commented. “They’ve been able to bring people together around what’s best for students.”

The committee commended the board members’ commitment to securing the training they needed as individuals and as a team to be the “best board,” especially their efforts to deepen their understanding of curriculum and instruction.

“They are able to speak with tremendous specificity as to what excellent teaching and learning looks like in their classrooms,” allowing them to better support it, the committee said.

The committee also noted the board members’ obvious commitment to and belief in each other, as evidenced by their focus on coming to meetings prepared and their ability to work together despite disagreements.

“One of the things [the Aledo ISD board members] stressed was that to be able to work well, a school board should be apolitical. When school boards become political, children are ultimately the losers,” the committee noted. “Boards and districts should be focused on what’s best for students and not trying to support the agenda of a particular constituency.”

Aledo ISD, located west of Fort Worth in Parker and Tarrant Counties, is a fast-growth district with more than 6,400 students and 700 employees.

The other four finalists for 2021 Outstanding School Board are: Duncanville ISD, Region 10; Hays CISD, Region 13; Mission CISD, Region 1; and Tomball ISD, Region 4.

The 2021 Regional Honor Boards (semifinalists) are: San Diego ISD, Region 2; Newton ISD, Region 5; Splendora ISD, Region 6; Longview ISD (large district) and Fruitvale ISD (small district), Region 7; San Felipe Del Rio CISD, Region 15; Gruver ISD, Region 16; Ector County ISD, Region 18; Clint ISD, Region 19; and Somerset ISD, Region 20.

Pictured above:
Front (left to right): Julie Turner, trustee; Jennifer Loftin, trustee; David Lear, trustee. Back: Jessica Brown; vice president; Hoyt Harris; president; Dr. Susan Bohn, superintendent; Forrest Collins; secretary; Jennifer Taylor, trustee.