Select Page

Results of the 2016 TASA Executive Committee elections are in. (Seats representing even-numbered districts were up for election this year.) Joining the TASA Executive Committee on June 1 and serving terms that end May 31, 2018, are:

Region 4: Greg Smith, superintendent, Clear Creek ISD
Region 6: Clark Ealy, superintendent, College Station ISD
Region 12: Judi Whitis, superintendent, Valley Mills ISD
Region 16: Steve Post, superintendent, Tulia ISD

Joining the Executive Committee to replace Dennis Bennett, who is stepping down this summer, and completing Bennett’s term, which ends May 31, 2017 is:

Region 9: Kevin Dyes, superintendent, Holliday ISD

Returning to the Executive Committee for terms ending May 31, 2018, are:

Region 2: Troy Mircovich, superintendent, Ingleside ISD
Region 8: Rex Burks, superintendent, Simms ISD
Region 10: Alfred Ray, chief special projects officer, Duncanville ISD
Region 14: Joseph Light, superintendent, Wylie ISD
Region 18: Andrew Peters, superintendent, Marfa ISD
Region 20: Brian Woods, superintendent, Northside ISD

At-Large Appointments to Executive Committee Approved

Pauline Dow, associate superintendent for instruction and technology services/chief instruction officer, North East ISD, and Gonzalo Salazar, superintendent, Los Fresnos CISD, were selected to begin terms as at-large members on June 1. Dow will replace outgoing at-large member LaTonya Goffney, Lufkin ISD superintendent, and serve a two-year term. Salazar, having already completed the second year of retired member Al Hambrick’s term, will now serve another two-year term.

Sunnyvale ISD Superintendent Doug Williams will also join the Executive Committee as an at-large member, completing the second year of Ealy’s term. As noted above, Ealy was elected to serve in the Region 6 seat.

2016-17 TASA President-Elect and Vice President Chosen

At its March 23 meeting, the TASA Executive Committee confirmed the election of Alvin ISD Superintendent Buck Gilcrease to serve as 2016-17 TASA president-elect. Gilcrease was the only candidate to submit the necessary petitions, having served during the current year as TASA vice-president. The Executive Committee elected Gayle Stinson, Lake Dallas ISD superintendent, to serve as vice-president. Both will serve one-year terms starting June 1.

An election is currently being held to fill the Region 11 position on the Executive Committee that will be open due to Stinson’s election as vice-president.

President-Elect Brown to Assume Position of President

Kevin Brown, superintendent, Alamo Heights ISD, assumes the position of TASA president on June 1.