Select Page

The Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) announced the regional winners of the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award. The SOTY program recognizes exemplary superintendents for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education.

Region 1 – Marla Guerra, South Texas ISD
Region 2 – Suzanne Nelson, Tuloso-Midway ISD
Region 4 – Angi Williams, Galena Park ISD
Region 5 – Jay Killgo, Vidor ISD
Region 7 – Jason Marshall, Palestine ISD
Region 8 – Don Jefferies, Greenville ISD
Region 9 – Jeff McClure, Henrietta ISD
Region 10 – David Harris, DeSoto ISD
Region 11 – Marcelo Cavazos, Arlington ISD
Region 12 – Robin Battershell, Temple ISD
Region 13 – Cathy Lauer, Nixon-Smiley CISD
Region 14 – Shaun Barnett, Stamford ISD
Region 16 – Bill Wiggins, Plemons-Stinnett-Phillips CISD
Region 18 – Dewitt Smith, Wink-Loving ISD
Region 19 – José Espinoza, Socorro ISD
Region 20 – Greg Gibson, Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City ISD

Superintendents from any of Texas’ 1,029 local school districts are eligible for nomination by their school boards. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee.

The state committee will interview regional winners in Austin August 26-27 and select five state finalists. The Superintendent of the Year will be announced September 23 at the TASA/TASB Convention in Houston.