Select Page

TASB has named Brian T. Woods, superintendent of Northside ISD (Region 20), the 2018 Superintendent of the Year. His win was announced September 28 at the TASA/TASB Convention in Austin.

Woods was selected from a group of state finalists that included Mark Porterie, Port Arthur ISD, Region 5; Tim Harkrider, Willis ISD, Region 6; Kenneth Border, Shallowater ISD, Region 17; and Juan Martinez, Clint ISD, Region 19.

The State Selection Committee noted that Woods places importance on local accountability measures and believes that learning should not only be rigorous but relevant for students. In addition, the Committee noted that he values openness to diverse viewpoints and considers strong relationships as key to effective leadership.

Woods has been in education administration for 21 years. He earned his bachelor’s degree at The University of Texas at Austin and his master’s and doctorate degrees at The University of Texas at San Antonio. For the past six years, he has led Northside ISD, which serves more than 106,000 students.

Sponsored by TASB, the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984. Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education.

Superintendents from any of the state’s local school districts are eligible for nomination by their school boards. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee.

Photo by Patrick Morris, Texas Association of School Boards