Select Page

TASA Executive Director Kevin Brown hosted a special, star-studded virtual event via Zoom Tuesday, May 5, for Texas’ 2020 Regional Teachers of the Year and the finalists for H-E-B’s Education in Excellence (EIE) Awards. During this live event, hosted in partnership with EIE and #TeachersCan, special guests popping in to encourage the educators who were participating included: Matthew McConaughey, Eva Longoria, Matt Bonner, Kendra Scott, 2015 National Teacher of the Year Shanna Peeples, 2020 Texas Teacher of the Year Karen Sams, and 2020 Texas Secondary Teacher of the Year Michelle Sandoval Villegas. Watch video of the event.

The 2020 EIE Award winners were also announced. Congratulations to the following educators, schools, and districts on their wins!

Rising Star Award

Elementary Category

Gerardo Villegas Juarez
$5,000 plus a $5,000 grant for Charles Graebner Elementary School, San Antonio ISD

Secondary Category

Laura Dunham
$5,000 plus a $5,000 grant for Clear Lake High School, Clear Creek ISD

Leadership Award

Elementary Category

Morgan Castillo
$10,000 plus a $10,000 grant for Woodgate Intermediate School, Midway ISD

Secondary Category

Porfirio Zamora
$10,000 plus a $10,000 grant for Veterans Memorial High School, Corpus Christi ISD

Lifetime Achievement Award

Elementary Category

Diana Garcia
$25,000 plus a $25,000 grant for De Zavala Elementary School, San Marcos CISD

Secondary Category

Nicole Vickerman
$25,000 plus a $25,000 grant for R.C. Clark High School, Plano ISD

Principal Award

Elementary Category

Dana Boyd
$10,000 plus a $25,000 grant for East Point Elementary School, Ysleta ISD

Secondary Category

Dr. Carlos Phillips II
$10,000 plus a $25,000 grant for Booker T. Washington High School & The High School for The Engineering Professions, Houston ISD

Early Childhood Center Award

Lawson Early Childhood School
Mckinney ISD
Principal Susie Towber
$25,000 Grant

School Board Award

Mission Consolidated ISD
School Board President Charlie Garcia III
$25,000 Grant

Small District Award

Boerne ISD
Superintendent Dr. Thomas Price
$50,000 Grant

Large District Award

Dallas ISD
Superintendent Dr. Michael Hinojosa
$100,000 Grant

See a list of all the 2020 EIE finalists.