Select Page

Fifteen Texas school district boards of trustees have been selected as regional nominees for the 2016 TASA School Board Awards.

The regional nominees for 2016 Outstanding School Board of the Year are:

Region School District Nominating Superintendent
1 Roma ISD Carlos Guzman
2 Robstown ISD Maria Vidaurri
4 Friendswood ISD Trish Hanks
5 Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD Pauline Hargrove
10 Lancaster ISD Michael McFarland
11 Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD Jim F. Chadwell
12 Aquilla ISD David Edison
12 Waco ISD Bonny Cain
13 Navarro ISD Dee Carter
14 Comanche ISD Rick Howard
15 Early ISD Wes Beck
17 Denver City ISD Gary Davis
18 Reagan County ISD Steve Long
20 Knippa ISD Jeff Cottrill
20 Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City ISD Greg Gibson

Texas school superintendents who belong to TASA and meet other criteria may nominate their boards of trustees for the TASA School Board Awards. Committees of TASA members organized by Texas’ regional education service centers review the nominations and select up to two school boards for consideration for the state-level awards: one with fewer than 1,000 students and one with 1,000 or more students.

TASA’s School Board Awards Committee will meet in late July to select up to five of the nominated boards to be recognized as Honor Boards. Those finalists will be interviewed at the TASA/TASB Convention in Houston September 23-25, and one will be named Outstanding School Board of the Year during that event.